You can cancel your Netflix membership at any point during the month. The cancellation will be effective at the end of your current billing period. This means that even after cancelling your subscription, you will still have access to your account until the end of the billing period.
You can restart your Netflix membership at any time. All your account details and viewing preferences will be stored for 10 months after cancellation.
How to Cancel Your Netflix Subscription
You will have to log onto Netflix.com to cancel your subscription, you cannot unsubscribe from the Netflix app.
Step 1: click on the menu in the right-hand corner (hover on your profile picture or click on the down arrow)
Step 2: click on Account
Step 3: under the first section, “Membership & Billing” click on “Cancel Membership”
Step 4: decide if you want to stay subscribed to the Netflix mailing list by ticking or unticking the opt-in box
Step 5: click on “Finish Cancellation”
What if I Don’t See the Cancel Option on My Netflix Account
If for some reason you don’t see the “Cancel Membership” button on your Account page, you will have to cancel your Netflix subscription through your billing company.
What Happens If You Cancel Netflix Early?
Your account will only automatically close at the end of your billing period. Even if you are still on your free trial, you won’t be charged for streaming content after you have activated the cancellation process. But you can continue watching shows and movies until your account closes down.
Click on the Billing details link on your Account to see when your account will end.
Will I Have To Start All Over If I Restart My Netflix Account?
If you reactivate your Netflix account within 10 months of the cancellation, you will just pick up where you left off. This includes all your account details ratings, and recommendations.
Will I Be Charged If I Cancel Netflix?
After cancellation, you will not be charged any extra membership fees, unless you reactivate your account.
My Netflix Account Is On Hold What Happens If I Cancel?
In this case your account will be immediately closed without any further access, even if you cancelled before the end of your billing period. But you will not be charged again unless you reactivate your account.
What Happens If I Cancel Netflix And I Have A Gift Card/Promotional Balance On My Account?
Once the promotional balance is consumed, your Netflix account will be cancelled. After your account cancellation request, you can continue streaming as long as the promotional balance lasts. Once it is finished, your cancellation will be activated.
Can I Rejoin If I Cancel Netflix?
You can reactivate your account at any time from the Account page. Make sure you remember your login details.